[RESOLVED] SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Moderators: Lead Developers, Junior Developers, Developers

Locked
User avatar
Paddy
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Posts: 2835
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:12 pm
Ingame name: Sully_Irvine
Location: Scottish Central Belt
Contact:

[RESOLVED] SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by Paddy » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:41 pm

Come across an issue whereby each time I start my computer I'll find that SAMP.exe has went walkies for no reason.

Anybody else experiencing this issue or know a fix?
Last edited by Paddy on Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Deputy Sheriff Sully Irvine
East Los Santos Station
Los Santos Sheriff's Department
Formerly Darragh Aidan McLenaghan
Assistant Sheriff
Executive Office of Administrative Services
Paddy
Retired Bad Administrator
Shite Video Maker
(clicky)

User avatar
Kemp
LS:RP Tester
LS:RP Tester
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:31 am
Ingame name: Eduardo Ortiz

Re: SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by Kemp » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:47 pm

A friend of mine had this issue a while ago, I'm pretty sure he just uninstalled SAMP, renamed his GTA SA directory and then installed SAMP again from a different mirror.

User avatar
Paddy
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Posts: 2835
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:12 pm
Ingame name: Sully_Irvine
Location: Scottish Central Belt
Contact:

Re: SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by Paddy » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:49 pm

Kemp wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:47 pm
A friend of mine had this issue a while ago, I'm pretty sure he just uninstalled SAMP, renamed his GTA SA directory and then installed SAMP again from a different mirror.
Oh no. The renaming of the directory. MY OCD!
I'll give it a go and let you know how things go. :)

EDIT: From what I gather, this originally worked, though the new RC3-4 client seems to be filled with viruses, so upon installation the problem was reinvented. In addition, I am no longer able to save files on my desktop, or in my downloads folder (both are places where I stored this erroneous client DL).

More news to follow.
Deputy Sheriff Sully Irvine
East Los Santos Station
Los Santos Sheriff's Department
Formerly Darragh Aidan McLenaghan
Assistant Sheriff
Executive Office of Administrative Services
Paddy
Retired Bad Administrator
Shite Video Maker
(clicky)

.mikey
Wannabe Don
Wannabe Don
Posts: 3538
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:49 am

Re: SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by .mikey » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:02 pm

Did it with me too. This happens because your antivirus is removing it, you can either disable your antivirus or add an exception.

User avatar
Kemp
LS:RP Tester
LS:RP Tester
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:31 am
Ingame name: Eduardo Ortiz

Re: SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by Kemp » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:12 pm

Paddy wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:49 pm
Kemp wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:47 pm
A friend of mine had this issue a while ago, I'm pretty sure he just uninstalled SAMP, renamed his GTA SA directory and then installed SAMP again from a different mirror.
Oh no. The renaming of the directory. MY OCD!
I'll give it a go and let you know how things go. :)

EDIT: From what I gather, this originally worked, though the new RC3-4 client seems to be filled with viruses, so upon installation the problem was reinvented. In addition, I am no longer able to save files on my desktop, or in my downloads folder (both are places where I stored this erroneous client DL).

More news to follow.
Ah, that's odd. Yeah, if the .exe file keeps deleting irrespective of the folder name as the poster above said it's likely your antivirus destructing the individual file or moving it to a vault within your antivirus every time. Adding an exception should fix it, it's quite concerning that you'd need to in the first place though. :?

User avatar
Paddy
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Posts: 2835
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:12 pm
Ingame name: Sully_Irvine
Location: Scottish Central Belt
Contact:

Re: SAMP.exe not in folder upon each PC boot

Post by Paddy » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:48 pm

Badman Mike wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:02 pm
Did it with me too. This happens because your antivirus is removing it, you can either disable your antivirus or add an exception.
Absolutely spot on. Resolved after a brief fight with my antivirus. Many thanks!
Deputy Sheriff Sully Irvine
East Los Santos Station
Los Santos Sheriff's Department
Formerly Darragh Aidan McLenaghan
Assistant Sheriff
Executive Office of Administrative Services
Paddy
Retired Bad Administrator
Shite Video Maker
(clicky)

Locked

Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users