[RL&A] TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Image...."Gentlemen"

Moderators: Game Admins, Lead Admins

Locked
User avatar
Semper
Spam Machine
Spam Machine
Posts: 5355
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:08 pm

[RL&A] TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Semper » Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:14 am

Well it's so slow, I can't play normal.
My specifics are.
4gb rams, dual core 2.10 ghz,
All options are on low!
Last edited by Semper on Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Marcus`
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Estonia

Re: TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Marcus` » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:02 pm

You can use ChrisFPS's autoconfigs to remove some stuff to gain a FPS boost. You can find several of his configs from the site here. I use my own version of Chris's high FPS config with all the things I need for a true TF2 feeling.

Might be a problem with the heatsink and fan which may have dust in it. It causes the laptop to go hot and have temperature throttling kick in which means slowing down the processes to cool down. That also causes lower FPS. You need to get rid of the dust if you haven't cleaned it for several months. It is a delicate process though and shouldn't be done unless you know how to. It is easier on a desktop than on a laptop. I cleaned mine from the dust that had gathered in it for less than a year recently and my FPS and computer temperature was stable again.

User avatar
Semper
Spam Machine
Spam Machine
Posts: 5355
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:08 pm

Re: TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Semper » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:33 pm

I'm not into gaming so I don't know what cfg is for bad computers?
And no matter how graphic will be, just want to play normal without big lags.

User avatar
Marcus`
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Estonia

Re: TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Marcus` » Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:29 pm

Max FPS config is for you then. It greatly reduces the graphics for FPS.

User avatar
Semper
Spam Machine
Spam Machine
Posts: 5355
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:08 pm

Re: TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Semper » Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:09 pm

Marcus` wrote:Max FPS config is for you then. It greatly reduces the graphics for FPS.


Fuck the graphics, I'll try it when I come back home, going now, thanks.

User avatar
Semper
Spam Machine
Spam Machine
Posts: 5355
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:08 pm

Re: TF2 is so slow for my laptop.

Post by Semper » Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:58 pm

Hmmm... How to instal those CFGs?

EDIT: I found way how to install, thanks, helped a lot.

Locked

Return to “Team Fortress 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users